Wikieducator – Learning4Content Workshop

Well my MOOC with Dr Bonk finished but I then got a reminder that I had signed up to do the online workshop Learning4Content with Wikieducator, which is great.  I did an online conference/workshop earlier this year conducted on Wikieducator that addressed Open Educational Resources and it was extremely informative and valuable.  This Learning4Content workshop is proving just as valuable and I guess I’m being motivated again by the fact that I can get some sort of recognition out of it in the form of certification in Wiki skills.  Right now I have applied for Wiki Apprentice 1 and 2 levels of certification but I can work my way up to WikiBuddy and even WikiMaster following the WikiMaster guidelines and targets set out – ‘A skills development and certification framework for WikiEducators’.

Image captured from http://wikieducator.org/File:Levels_of_mastery.svg and uploaded by user Mackiwg

Don’t get me wrong, I am intrinsically motivated to always develop professionally and to seek out opportunities to grow my own knowledge and skills but I do find myself increasingly motivated by recognition and certification such as this workshop offers.  The MOOC earned me a badge but this seems like a big step up from that.  I know I will continue to strive toward achieving WikiMaster 🙂

So, as part of this workshop, I am to develop a wiki free content resource licensed under a CC-BY-SA or CC-BY license on WikiEducator.  I had a few options to play with but I have decided to develop a professional development resource for educators or trainers in online design principles, accessibility and usability.  I want the resource to not only be applicable to designing for online learning but to be a tool that could guide the best practice design of all types of learning resources.  There are fundamental principles to consider when creating resources for educational use and I want to create a practical tool that will help facilitate this better.  Currently a work in progress but will put up as soon as it is complete.  In the meantime, I will continue to be both intrinsically and extrinsically motivated in my quest for WikiMastery 🙂

5 thoughts on “Wikieducator – Learning4Content Workshop

  1. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  2. MMJ204S,http://pinterest.com/pin/87960998942459346/,http://pinterest.com/pin/87960998942459346/ on said:

    Thank you for this. Thats all I can say. You most undoubtedly have created this into something thats eye opening and important. You clearly know so much about the subject, youve covered so many bases. Great stuff from this part of the internet.

Leave a Reply

