Twitter – A World of Knowledge Sharing

  1. I heard last year that as far as social bookmarking sites go, Twitter is the number one site for bookmarking, even though it was not first intended to be for bookmarking.  However, whilst it does not bookmark URLs, images and videos in the same way as Diigo might it has become the main place for global URL sharing.  It’s fantastic!! I love seeing what amazing new bits of information, resources, tools, and quotes I can pick up everyday but also, the connections I can make is extremely valuable.  Anyone who follows my tweets will know that when I am at a conference I take my notes all through my tweets.  I do this because it allows me to put in URLs that are immediately accessible and because if I catch things said and others don’t they can catch it later and I like to contribute to that back-channel conversation.  I have been favouriting more tweets of late too but then thinking, what do I do with them besides bookmarking them in my Diigo account?  I love using Storify so I thought it might be a good idea to regularly reflect on my favourite tweets in Storify and then publish on my blog.  So below are my favourite tweets for the last week or so.
  2. I have only been a Twitter user for the last 18 months but I use it more than I do Facebook at the moment and it is certainly more productive to use.  I get so much from Twitter these days and these tools shared above assist in identifying ways to make the most out of Twitter.  I already use my Twitter account and feed in my blog and in Paper.Li, Flipboard and in Storify but there are other ways I’m keen to explore in making use of my tweets as well.  I would like to try Twups and Tweetwally because of organising my tweets and aggregating are probably two of the more important things I want to be able to do.  The archivist tool that is shown in the second tweet is also a great way to summarise statistics on a hashtag which can be very valuable in conference situations for example.

  3. Assessing student achievement of learning outcomes is a high priority in education and the four tools shared in the above tweet offer different tools and software for assessing this student achievement.  Customisable quizzes and tests, can be designed to suit your individual educational context and provide detailed reports and summaries following the assessment.  I’m currently not in a teaching role but they sound like great resources to try out.
  4. This image was one of the first things that caught my eye when I went to the #flipclass
    results trending on Twitter a few days ago.  It’s a very effective representation of the
    Flipped Classroom, PBL and Bloom’s all in one visual resource.   There
    is so much packed into the image but if I follow a pathway within that
    image its full of great scaffolding for developing learning experiences
    that integrate the Flipped Classroom, PBL and Bloom’s taxonomy. 
  5. Worded in six questions is the ‘criteria’ for what might make an educator innovative.  It’s something I’ve heard debated in many education circles over the last few years, what is innovation and what makes someone an innovator?  I like this article but words can’t put a box around a person or type of person and define them as an innovator or not but it could be an interesting start to what does make an innovator.
  6. I remember learning about metacognition in 1st year university and the many lectures and tutorials that were spent debating what really defined metacognition.  This is a very simple breakdown of what metacognition is, examples of metacognition skills and strategies for the facilitation of self-regulatory learning.
  7. A very well designed Prezi, even if it is still nausea producing to just flick through and get a quick overview.  Worth a look through still šŸ™‚
  8. planejourney
    What Teachers Need to Know about #BYOD ( Bring Your Own Device ) Trend in Education http://shar.es/tfCV2 via @medkh9 #edutech #edtech
  9. The above article strongly advocates BYOD for education.  It’s a risky venture and there are so many implications to consider in integrating such an approach to delivering teaching and learning but would it also enhance opportunities that are sometimes limited by poor school budgets?  As a high school teacher I had very little access to technology and getting a class onto computers to do a task was very painful.  However, I was also in a school where the students came from a low socioeconomic background and could not possibly be expected to bring their own devices to school.  Many of the students did have iPods but then it was the wall put up by the school that said we can’t use mobile devices in class because they aren’t art of learning.  So, it’s a constant battle but I do believe strongly in the value of the BYOD movement because it makes learning meaningful and personal, amongst many other benefits.

    Finally,  a great read below to end this post….

Leave a Reply

