Collaborate through Content Curation

Internet content curation has grown exponentially in the last few years and as I look at who has been reading my blog of late, just even in the last two days, at least 20 of the 40-50 views have been via Scoop.It.  I decided the read further into this internet phenomenon and found some great sites.  This article by David Kapuler lists the Top 10 Sites for Curating the Web, which enlightened me to other curation opportunities that I had not heard of as yet.

A few of the sites I have actively used, however, some I had not heard of and they sound great.  Not so many years ago it was only bookmarking sites like Diigo and Delicious that really offered curating tools but now there are sites like Scoop.It and Paper.Li out there creating digital libraries of so many fantastic resources.  Twitter has become the biggest social bookmarking tool on the Internet and in that sense, also an incredibly popular tool for curation.  Here are some statistics shared in the article Content Curators Are The New Superheros Of The Web by Steven Rosenbaum:

Yesterday, 250 million photos were uploaded to Facebook, 864,000 hours of video were uploaded to YouTube, and 294 BILLION emails were sent. And that’s not counting all the check-ins, friend requests, Yelp reviews and Amazon posts, and pins on Pinterest….If you want to understand how fast curation is growing on the web, just take a look at Pinterest. The two-year-old visual clipping and publishing platform has now surpassed 10 million users, making it the fastest-growing web service on the web ever, according to Comscore. Comscore reported that Pinterest was the fastest independent site to hit 10 million monthly uniques in the U.S.

Curation to me is like a Google search, I type in a query and Google delivers me a list of resources that match that query.  Curation is about knowledge discovery through the lens of a specific topic.  Brittany Morin writes on The Huffington Post about The Curated Web and says that:

Curators, by modern definition, carefully and decisively choose among the best of all that’s available and often create entirely new ideas and perspectives out of that information, all while using their own voice… Editors improve content authored by others; the curators are those authors. The Internet has given rise to all kinds of bite-sized editorial content – photos, videos, and even 140-character sentences. Curators can find the best bits and pieces of this content and evolve it into a bigger picture or idea.

I’m very much into mobile technology and devices and in today’s culture of Internet browsing and other activity on mobile devices, being able to curate on a mobile device is very important.  These are the sites below that could be used for curating information:

I’m very keen on exploring these apps more, especially Pearltrees so stay posted…

4 thoughts on “Collaborate through Content Curation

  1. Pingback: Collaborate through Content Curation | Kevin I Mills | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Collaborate through Content Curation « kimmblog

  3. Kristina,

    First I want to say that I am grateful for finding your blog. I’m currently an MSIDT student and the resources you have here (especially your concise and clear summaries of learning theories) are wonderful. I was looking at your entry on digital curation, which is something I have been using an LMS (edmodo.com) for for the past 2 years. However, the UI of peartrees is phenomenal and as I watched the the quick video overviewing how it works, all I could think of is how it is modeled off of the many components in memory theories, and takes complete advantage of digital technology. I’ve read here and there about many curation tools as well as ideas on Digital Asset Management, but I haven’t had one really resonate with me for both utility and UI.

    Gestalt theory on organization is obvious in the tree metaphor (or perhaps in the context of memory I should say “schema”?) to create meaningful and unique hierarchies, elaboration with the ability to add more information through additional nodes or pearls, the use of visualized data (preview windows), etc. The fact that the UI is also elegantly simple, and is a cross-platform application that allows “retrieval” and memory activation anywhere and anytime that is meant to compensate for the limited capacity of STM. Even the ability to share, embed, link, and collaborate with others and discover other relevant information through the platform hints at a constructivist perspective of learning.

    The design in retrospect seems to have all of the deliberate, well thought out decisions based on learning theory. I’ve used things like Diigo which is social bookmarking but more menu based in a traditional sense, that is, the actual web browser UI. But I was wondering in your opinion, do you think that this the hallmark of an Instructional Designer on board at Pearl Tree to help design the UI? Have you continued to explore using it in your own day to day life, and how has the experience been if you have? If you haven’t, why not?

  4. Hi Stewart, thanks for your great comments!! I love reading through your amazing perspective on Pearltrees. I have been an extensive user of Diigo for years and try using it in different ways all the time to suit my needs. I definitely think there is great potential in Pearltrees but as yet I have not engaged with and utilised it to its full potential and value. I haven’t found a niche area for it to fill in my professional curating etc but I will revisit I believe after your comments. I also discovered another great curation tool this morning (well a few actually) called Themeefy and it is brilliant! It is very user-friendly and I will definitely be using it more.

Leave a Reply

