SAMR Model and Rigor/Relevance Framework

Whilst I was in the US I had the pleasure of visiting a local secondary school in Aztec.  I visited Aztec High School with a friend who I was staying with who happens to be a mathematics teacher there.  It was at this school that I learned about the Rigor and Relevance Framework.  The staff at Aztec High School used it quite consistently in their professional development for a period of time and although I was unable to find out very much about how, I was very much interested in the framework.  In my work at PLANE in the last week or two I have been looking at the SAMR model to inform individual teacher assessment of ICT skills.  I like both the framework and the model and will definitely be considering them further,  looking at how they can be integrated into my own professional practice and leadership of school staff in ICT at my new job too.

The Rigor and Relevance Framework

The framework was developed by the International Center for Leadership in Education for the purpose of providing a tool “to examine curriculum, instruction, and assessment”.  The framework is made up of two continuums that reflect Bloom’s taxonomy and the the Application model, which addresses the application of knowledge in context.  The two continuums are represented in four quandrants: acquisition, application, assimilation and adaptation.

What I really love about the framework is that the two continuums are so complementary.  I have always been a big fan of taxonomies and the hierarchical progression of simple knowledge acquisition to the transformational adaption of knowledge in a new way.  I believe  I’m a learner who just likes to do things in a scaffolded design but others do not and I’m not under the impression that this kind of framework would resonate with everyone and make the same impact but it is a great place to start for people who lead ICT training and integration.

The Rigor and Relevance Framework is also very complimentary to the SAMR model.  I learned about the Rigor and Relevance Framework first but after doing some reading and research on the SAMR model, I realised how they both can serve the same purpose and work together to help guide the implementation of ICT and further development of skills in this area.  With the exception of the font, this presentation below is a good look at the framework.

 

The SAMR Model

As I mentioned, I have been looking at the SAMR model recently to design a self-assessment tool that looks at gauging individual ICT integration skill levels in educators.  The model consists of the four stages: substitution, augmentation, modification and redefinition and is designed as a progression from simply substituting a new technology for an older technology in an existing task and moving towards being able to completely redesign and redevelop a task based of the knowledge of and skills in utilising new technologies.  It is a flexible model and easily applied.

My understanding of the model has grown over the last week and I realise that I am not always at the at the redefinition level with my application of new technologies but  I could apply this model to my own planning and integration of technology for sure.  I have always tried to use technology in a way that does not detract from the intended outcomes of the lesson and believe that most of the time I have but sometimes the technical aspects of using technology do get in the way, and shouldn’t.  This model can help to keep an educator accountable to what they need to consider when implementing ICTs.

One thought on “SAMR Model and Rigor/Relevance Framework

  1. Pingback: SAMR Model – not just about technology integration | Kristina Hollis

Leave a Reply

