Bloom and Grow Forever

Well Benjamin Bloom probably couldn’t have predicted the long-term relevancy and sustainability of his taxonomy when he coined it in the 1950s but even now in the 21st century, the Blooms taxonomy is still informing work all across educational institutes.  In the midst of planning for a major implementation of mobile learning with iPads, I have been search and contemplating the best practice methods for doing so with both staff and students.  I have written posts on the two best examples of models so far that I’ve found and I remain loyal to these two. However, it is now a matter of how to implement this effectively within professional development that I deliver to my colleagues.

padagogy wheel smallThe iPad is the focus of this new learning adventure because it is to be introduced into classroom teaching and learning for the first time on a more permanent basis. However, I will continue to emphasise it to everyone as I have until now that it is not about the technology it is about enhancing good teaching practise with today’s tools, engaging the minds of 21st century learners in a way that will be of most relevance to them. I want to see good pedagogical practise still be the focus. It is for this Eason that I will be firmly adopting the two models I have mentioned before: The Rule of 6 by Jim Norwood and The Padagogy Wheel by Allan Carrington. These two models to me represent the key foundational principles of good teaching and learning experiences and they can easily provide a scaffold for designing lessons that utilise the iPad as a tool for accomplishing learning outcomes.

So, the first outcome I want my colleagues to achieve is, they will be able to identify lesson within their units of work that can be modified to make use of the apps and affordances provided by an iPad.  They cool,d do this by reading through their units of work and highlighting key verbs that align with the levels of Blooms taxonomy and then use a resource such as The Padagogy Wheel to identify appropriate apps. I also want them to be considering the reason they use apps and the purpose the app serves, reflecting on the SAMR model.

SAMR modelI do not want to force too much on my colleagues all at once so I do not think I will bring up the SAMR model just yet but work on the know,edge and skills they have with apps and knowing when to use them and then progress to using them in a way that modifies or defines the tasks, not just simply substituting other tools with technology or slightly augmenting the task with technology but completely redesigning activities to make effective use of all the iPad offers.

Therefore, it is my plan that I teach them how to identify where in their already established units of work that they can utilise the iPad and then facilitate their learning about news apps that will assist in these areas. The pedagogy and practise is still the focus.

My main concerns at the moment are addressing the needs of everyone, providing enough resources and instruction but not too much, motivating colleagues to seek more knowledge and skills and identifying the most important aspects of the implementation that need to be considered. My colleagues are most concerned about being time-poor and having workloads that are very full and also include implementing a new curriculum next year as well.

One thought on “Bloom and Grow Forever

  1. Pingback: WK 1 Blog Assgn | lssmarshall

Leave a Reply

